New-Age Australian Wine, is this the real life?

Like many who walked these roads before, I had my share of Yellowtail back in…let’s call them the good old days. While the attractive price and

easy style drew me to it, the other side of that double-edged wine was that my own opinion of Australia and wine was pretty well perverted. As far as New World wine regions go, Australia sort of led the pack in Ultra-big high alcohol wines. Between those knockouts and the jug wine behemoth of Yellowtail the Australian wine scene was as barren as the outback…right?

Well I’ve had my words handed to me on a plate haven’t I? In my glass tonight is a 12.8% Grenache/Syrah blend called The Green Room from a small family winery Ochota Barrels. What is surprising is not just the ABV on a wine from a hot climate, made from high-alcohol grapes, but that the texture still manages to be quite lush and rich, but instead of gobs of fruit we smell baked blueberry and damp earth, and Instead of toasted oak I smell lemon-grass and black pepper.

Now the wine suffers a bit on a technical level, with some tartaric acid precipitate near the end that had to be filtered off, but the style and quality of the fruit is unimpeachable and it means I’ll take a closer look at Australia from now on.

wp-1453404005914-e1453420503231

Price 37$

Cellar Rating- *1-5 years

Food pairing – Chicken with an earthy sauce, Game, grilled veggies

Author: The Ex-Sommelier

Former sommelier with the Batali & Bastianich Restaurant Group in New York. Now a NorCal based wine writer and consultant.

Leave a Reply

